Home / Recipe of the month

Comfort soup

It’s been a while since my last entry. Unfortunately I was so busy last week that I either forgot to put the blog photos online or started a new blog entry without ever finishing it, or did not have a computer with me when I actually got some time to write. And now there is a line of blog posts that want to be published. One by one…. I can assure you though that there is going to be lots to read in the next few weeks.

I went to my little 200 inhabitants home village this weekend. I saw my family and went for the most beautiful run in the countryside. For some reason ( I guess its the climate change reason), spring has suddenly decided to appear and surprise us with amazing 22 degrees Celcius. A bit crazy though if you think about the fact that it had about 20 degrees less 2 weeks ago.

Coming home from my little trip last night I knew I wanted some comfort food. Comfort food to me probably does not mean the same to you, but surely has to do with something warm that includes lots of spices, herbs and flavour. To me, the perfect comfort food is a bowl of Indian Dal. Of course, I changed the orignial recipe to make my own creative recipe out of it.  It takes about 15-20 minutes to make and there wasn’t once I did not wish to bathe in that soup. Now I want to share it with you, for nights when you need something you KNOW will taste great and will always hit the spot, no matter what mood you are in.

Spiced Carrot and Lentil Soup

Spiced carrot and lentil soup

Ingredients (serves 4 or less- depending on hunger and portion size)

  • 1 cup of dried red lentils, rinsed
  • 1 T coconut oil
  • 4 big carrots
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 thumb-big piece fresh ginger (grated)
  • 1 T tomato paste
  • 1 tsp garam masala
  • 1 tsp cumin (ground)
  • 1 tsp coriander (ground)
  • 1 pinch of chili
  • 2 cups of vegetable stock

to serve/ garnish

  • soy yoghurt
  • 3 Tbsp pistachios, chopped
  • fresh coriander (or parsley)
  • zest of 1 lemon

Prepare veggies. Chop carrots into little cubes, cut onions and garlic. Heat a pot over high heat on the stove. Melt the coconut oil and add all the spices. Let sizzle for 30 seconds to get full flavour of the spices. Add onions, garlic and grated ginger root. Turn heat to medium and let cook for another minute or two. Now add the rinsed lentils and tomato paste. Stir well. Add a cup of veggie stock and cover the pot. After 5 minutes, stir well and add carrots. Let simmer but keep an eye on it. Whenever the lentils have soaked up more water, just keep adding more veggie stock until you have used up your 2 cups. You can of course add more until you reach the desired consistency.Let simmer for another 15-20 minutes. Let cool for a couple of minutes and blend half of the soup.  Add salt and pepper to taste. Serve with a dollop of yoghurt, chopped pistachios, lemon zest and fresh coriander (and maybe little goat’s cheese bruschettas).

What is your ultimate comfort food? Do you have a soup recipe you can always rely on?

12 thoughts on “Comfort soup

  1. I LOVE lentil soup… I make a similar style soup, and I agree, it is so comforting. I reckon because red lentils get that texture of baby food, so it;s like a little trip back in time ;) The pistachio garnish is a great idea…. I’m on the case of making Viper chicken noodle soup (from scratch, making my own chicken stock even!) as he is sick… hopefully this will work in a “comforting” sense!

    • Hope the chicken noodle soup worked for Viper and he is not sick anymore.
      you are so right with the baby food texture of the lentil soup! that explains everything! haha I love baby food ! mhmmm

  2. We’re having nice warm weather in NY too…it’s so beautiful and abnormal, but I’m enjoying every minute!

    My comfort go to usually involves cheese. I’d say these days it’s either grilled cheese sandwiches or avocado pudding…

    The soup looks amazing!

    • i have yet to try your grilled cheese sandwich recipe! I still have to find some unpasteurized cheeses, they are quite hard to get and would rather search than stick to pasteurized supermarket stuff. avocado pudding— yum! do u have a favourite recipe?

  3. Comfort food to me? PIZZA. Spinach and Feta pizza!

    My fav soup? Anything my mom makes (she has this incredible ability to make it taste like home).

    Other than that, I LOVE Imagine’s Organic Butternut Squash soup. I throw in TONS of broccoli, mushrooms and beans! Love it!

    • that butternut squash soup sounds delicious. Its great that you have organic soups in cans in the supermarket!

  4. What beautiful weather you’re having! I’m loving running outside at the moment. It’s so nice to feel the warmth of the sun on my skin and see all the beautiful Spring flowers that are popping up everywhere at the moment (we’ve even got purple crocuses growing in the cracks in our driveway!)
    Your dal soup looks like the perfect comfort meal to me! We adore dal in our house and have ended up eating coconut dal 3 times this week already as I made a huge batch on Saturday night when we were entertaining. We never get sick of it! I make tomato and lentil soup, but have never had lentil and carrot so I’ll definitely have to give this is a try. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe xx

    • sharon you just reminded me of coconut dal, i used to always add coconut milk to my lentil and carrot dal soup too! dont know why i ever stopped but I should definitely get into it again! When I was little, soups were my favourite food and no meal was complete without- its great coming up with so many new soup recipes!

Leave a Reply

