Half Marathon Recap

Posted on Updated on

Puh…. stressful last couple of days guys!! On Friday evening I left to drive down to the South of Austria to spend a night at my parents’ place because the day after I needed to be even farther South for my half marathon. My home village (it really is a village with no more than 200 people) is only 1 hour away from the Italian border and therefore it was the perfect stop on my way down. On Saturday morning my boyfriend and I continued our road trip to Trieste, Italy;  where I picked up my half marathon starter package and did a little warm up training. Can you believe that you actually get a can of lager (beer) and a package of white pasta in your starter bag? I mean after all its a half marathon- in Vienna you get fruit & nuts, protein bars, isotonic beverages and stuff like that… those Italians.. they really make me laugh.

That evening before the marathon I decided I needed to feast on a yummy Italian dinner including (of course) red wine and my boyfriend’s wonderful company. It was quite fun and made me relax a lot more. I guess the 2 glasses of wine did me good. At uni I actually often drank a glass of wine while studying. Somehow it helped me focus more on my papers. I know, most of you probably shake your heads now and do not believe that drinking wine and studying works together but I promise you, if you actually start knowing your wine and appreciate a special glass- it is a wonderful helper in ANY stressful moment. Just be sure to stay with that ONE glass.

Anyways after a dinner of yummy risotto, local fish and red wine plus a nice walk along the seaside, I went to bed in hope of getting some good rest before the race. I had a restless night but was so excited in the morning that I did not mind. I enjoyed glass of water with a spoon of barleygrass and then a pre race breakfast of overnight oats, sunwarrior vanilla protein powder, loads  of cinnamon, dried apricots, half of a sliced banana, maca and some sunflower seeds. I took it with me from Austria and kept it in an old peanut butter jar. I just knew that an Italian cornetto (Italian version of a croissant) would not be a great pre race fuel and it is quite impossible to get a bowl of porridge or even decent muesli in Italian hotels and cafes. After all the Italian standard breakfast consists of a cappucchino, a cornetto and a glass of orange juice. BASTA!  

Pre race-fuel: overnight oats with banana, dried apricots, sunwarrior protein, cinnamon, maca, sunflower seeds and soy yoghurt.

Then it was time for me to get ready and leave for the meeting point. A bus took us marathoners to the starting point where we had another hour to kill. I was freezing and was walking around, doing gymnastics, warming up etc. I was afraid to exhaust myself even before the race but I was just too cold. Half hour before the race I unpacked a small  homemade protein bar to give me some extra fuel. Everyone seemed to be scarfing down bananas and protein bars before the race so I just went with the crowd. AND THE RACE… .the race was so much fun. I truly enjoyed every minute of it. I actually just wanted to run it in a moderate pace and did not have a particular goal (although I was dreaming to run under 2 hours). The race was all along the seaside. It is called the “Marathon of two Castles” where you basically run from one castle to another. It was so beautiful and the perfect sea breeze. The weather was perfect, not too warm, not too cold! 

 My legs were so light and I felt absolutely great. I loved every minute of it and ran the whole race with a big smile on my face. I would have never thought to enjoy it so much! I felt quite AMAZING after the first half of the race that I decided to speed up a bit and go a bit faster the second half. I slowly overtook a pink lady apple (the woman had bright pink shorts and a round figure (I just had to come up with a story while running) that I had been following for about 3km, then a purple pirate woman (she wore a purple shirt and a pirate hat with black skulls on it), then a space galaxy girl (she wore a pink skirt and knee long socks, plus a neon green shirt and had her blonde hair in a high bun) and last but not least- Giulio: An Italian who I ran next to for the last 2 km. At some point we looked at each other, smiled and shook each others hands and introduced ourselves(yes during the race!). I then told him, “Lets go for the last km” and took off. I thought he would stay with me, but I did not see him again until after the finishing line. I finished with a time that was much better than I had expected :  1:51:13

 For the amount of training I put in I can be more than happy. Actually its incredible that I even managed to do it after having been so busy with my 2 jobs. I owe a big thank you to my boyfriend and coach who supported me on this journey to my first half marathon. It was amazing!  For all of you who want to run a half marathon with me in the future, I would love to have some bloggers join me in Austria or Italy or anywhere, really!

   Have you ever ran a half marathon? Do you like running? What is the most challenging sport/exercise you have done so far?

17 thoughts on “Half Marathon Recap

    fitundgluecklich said:
    May 8, 2012 at 3:31 pm

    congrats on the great time, wow, thats really fast!!!!

      Alexiasana responded:
      May 10, 2012 at 10:50 am

      thank you thats sweet of u! i actually thought it would take me longer but my legs really felt great and light so i just kept going faster :)

    Lisa said:
    May 9, 2012 at 12:01 am

    Great job!!!

    I have run a half marathon distance, but not in a race. I like races, but they stress me out. I guess having a glass of wine directly before probably wouldn’t help!

    Lou said:
    May 9, 2012 at 7:35 am

    Well done Alexia! That’s awesome you had such a fantastic race, must be a great feeling :)

    I’m all for a good glass of wine for relaxing too – helped me induce labour ;)

      Alexiasana responded:
      May 10, 2012 at 10:49 am

      really? it helped you induce labour? You totally crack me up- thats amazing!

        Lou said:
        May 11, 2012 at 11:54 am

        Yeah! My midwife told me to relax, cook a nice dinner, sit down with Leigh and share a glass of wine. Maybe 4 hours later I was in labour. The beauty/power of a GOOD glass of wine (just one though, I was still trying to be responsible!) Then I managed to have a seriously kick ass labour, no medication whatsoever… there you go!

        Alexiasana responded:
        May 11, 2012 at 12:23 pm

        wow no medication- i am going to pray on that ONE glass of good wine now!

    Muesliviki said:
    May 9, 2012 at 11:01 am

    Congrats! Wow, great time! Btw you looked amazing girl;-) You are my motivation to keep in running these days!

      Alexiasana responded:
      May 10, 2012 at 10:48 am

      thank you so much- thats really kind of you. keep running girl or come to austria for a run or the yoga retreat!! http://yogatage.jimdo.com

    Sharon said:
    May 10, 2012 at 10:42 am

    What a beautiful place for a half marathan! And big congratulations on your finishing time! You must be so pleased with yourself, and so you should be! It’s so great to hear how much you enjoyed the race. Loved seeing the pics of you too! :)

      Alexiasana responded:
      May 10, 2012 at 10:50 am

      yes, it definitely was a BEAUTIFUL place to run. I truly enjoyed every minute of it!

    Bianca Beauvale said:
    May 10, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    Hi Alexia! Thanks for your comment on my blog! Congrats on your run, I participated in the dm Frauenlauf last year in Vienna, this year they had no places available anymore (I was too late). I’m happy you stopped by my blog because I enjoyed reading this post (and the reference to italian craziness, great! Haha and would have loved to see pictures of galaxy girl, pink lady apple…). I recently started practicing yoga again, so I need any advice I can get. Plus your recipes look awesome and this “Pre race-fuel” looks just too yummy!! I would love it if we’d be blogger-friends!

      Alexiasana responded:
      May 10, 2012 at 3:09 pm

      Bianca, thanks for stopping by! I am so glad you enjoyed reading this post. believe i wished i had a camera with me to take photos of pink lady apple and galaxy girl- some runners were just too crazy. especially all the ones running the relay (every person in a team runs a couple of kms). looking forward to reading more from you and maybe next year we can run the dm Frauenlauf in Vienna together!
      Regarding Yoga, feel free to ask me anything you are curious about or just come to one of my classes ;)

    Nada (One Arab Vegan) said:
    May 11, 2012 at 9:12 am

    Alexia – Well DONE on the kick-ass time! You put my HM training to shame ;) As you know I love running and am itching to do another race once my exams are over.

      Alexiasana responded:
      May 11, 2012 at 9:29 am

      believe me NADA, i was not training more than you and with low intensity times. I am always running with my Polar Hert rate monitor and run with a rate of under 140 except when i do intervals. i had about 5 training HOURS a week altogether- so about 4 trainings a week which were 75mins long. i just have a good coach ;)

    realfoodkatiesway said:
    May 12, 2012 at 12:19 pm

    Congratulations Alexia! It sounds like you absolutely relished in the moment….Geez who wouldn’t want to run a half marathon in ITALY??? Your attitude on things just makes me smile…I also love your description of the women you passed…Pink lady apple is my fav…

    I HAVE run a half marathon last September and that will be my last. While training for it, last JULY I said “this is insane. I hate this. But I set a goal and I will achieve that goal.”

    Needless to say, no I have no interest to run another ;) I just did so much damage to my body being 300 pounds for so long that I’m just not meant to run long distances. Besides, I much prefer the quickies ;)

    The Mindful Foodie said:
    May 16, 2012 at 10:42 am

    Congrats Alexia, that is such an awesome time! You go gal x

Leave a Reply

