Sugar Free & Raw Very Berry Cheesecake

As the headline already says, today is another recipe day and I will be sharing my birthday cake from this year with you. I decided to surprise my friends with a raw cake, something most of them have never even heard of before. How can a cake be raw? Cheesecake without cheese? Yes, it is possible and it tastes more delicious than any other cheesecake I have ever had before*.

*My brother claimed that the raw key lime cheesecake is the best one but you will have to try them all to find out yourself ;)

Anyways, this cheesecake is pure bliss, plus it is super healthy. I only used about 3 Tbsp of coconut oil for 2 small “cakes” and added some silken tofu for a smoother consistency. Technically, this means it is not 100% raw but I wanted to make it less heavy on the nuts and oil so I just went with silken tofu. It was also my first time trying AGAR AGAR in a raw recipe and I have to say that it did not quite work like I wanted it to. I reckon I would have had to freeze it a bit longer or use more cashews. It was also my first attempt with NuNaturals Stevia Powder, which I am now totally crazy about. It was such a great subsitution, 2 teaspoons sweetened the whole cake and everyone loved it! SUCCESS!

The main tool for making the cake was.. tatatataaaaa…. my new Vitamix.

Vitamix Profimixer from keimling.de

Vitamix Profimixer from keimling.de

Actually it is not ‘my’ Vitamix since I am ‘only’ testing it out for the next couple of months, but I have grown so fond of this magic machine that I consider it as mine already. :) Thanks to the wonderful online website Keimling.de, who offered me to test the Vitamix, I am now able to make even better, smoother cakes, smoothies and soups. I never thought a blender could ever become such an important tool in the kitchen, but let me tell you, once you have a Vitamix you don’t want to be without one anymore!

Now on to today’s wonderful recipe!

VERY BERRY CHEESECAKE

very berry cheesecake

raw very berry cheesecake

raw berry cheesecakeraw berry cheesecakeIngredients: (makes 2 small cakes or 1 big one)

For the crust:

  • 150g almonds (about 1 cup), soaked
  • 7 medjool dates, pitted

Soak almonds for half an hour in warm water. Poor away the water and blend almonds with dates in a high speed blender until you get a doughy consistency. To make the cruss, simply press the dough firmly in a round cake pan.

For the raw cheesecake:

  • 150g cashews (about 1 cup), soaked
  • 100g silken tofu
  • 3 Tbsp virgin coconut oil
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 tsp Stevia powder
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 package (5g) Agar Agar powder

Blend all the ingredients in a high speed blender until smooth. Depending on what consistency you like the cheesecake, you might want to add some more water. Mix Agar Agar powder in 100ml of water then heat to boiling point on the stove. Let cool and then slowly add raw cheesecake mixture to Agar Agar (not the other way round). Now, poor the finished raw cheesecake mixture in the cake tin and stick it for 15 minutes in the freezer. Meanwhile, prepare the berry topping.

For the very berry topping:

  • 500g fresh strawberries
  • 300g fresh red currants
  • 1 package (5g) Agar Agar powder
  • a few drops of liquid vanilla stevia

Put strawberries (leave some for decoration) and red currants (again leave some) in the Vitamix blender and blend until smooth. Again, mix Agar Agar powder with 100ml water and boil for one minute. Then add berry mixture to it (you can also simply make some more Agar Agar when preparing the raw cheesecake instead of making it twice).

Take cake pan out of the freezer. The white raw cheesecake should be quite firm by now. Add some WHOLE red currants to the berry mixture and poor on top of the raw cheescake. Put back in the freezer. After another 15 minutes, when the red berry part has firmed up too, take it out once again and decorate with remaining  berries. Put back in freezer and freeze for AT LEAST 3 hours or overnight. If you freeze it overnight, make sure you take it out and put it in the fridge about 2 hours before you want to eat it. Otherwise you will have a frozen parfait.

So , what do you think of this lovely summery berry cheesecake? Have you tried one of my recipes? If not, here is some more inspiration.

Raw Apricot Crust Cheesecake

Raw Apricot Crust Cheesecake

Raw Key Lime Cheesecake

Raw Key Lime Cheesecake

Let me know if you make one of the cheesecakes! I am so curious what you guys think about it! What’s your favourite summer berry recipe?

17 thoughts on “Sugar Free & Raw Very Berry Cheesecake

    • i keep forgetting that it’s winter in Australia! Your winters are not that cold anyways though right? so you will still be able to enjoy a cold tasty cheesecake!?

  1. YUM Alexia, YUM!

    How good is Nunaturals? I love it too – you should try their vanilla stevia liquid…. SO GOOD!

    Hope you had a fantastic birthday, and got very spoilt x

  2. What a fantastic birthday cake! I used to make my vegan cheesecakes with silken tofu, but I found the flavour and consistency was never quite right. I much prefer the raw cashew & coconut oil combination (though it must make the cheesecake very calorific).
    I bought my first packet of agar agar last week and I’m going to try and make a fresh fruit vegan jelly. I have no idea how it’ll turn out… but if it’s a success I’ll post it!

    • i find cheesecakes based on cashews and coconut oil quite heavy too. thats why i tried some silken tofu in it, which is technically not raw, but it was so worth it! i loved it!

    • thanks love, so glad u made it! got the nunaturals from iherb.com although I think you can buy stevia powder thats quite nice in health shops in vienna already!

  3. Yessss I finally found my way back to your blog! I have been trying to find it for ages! Anyway, I have some serious catching up to do :)

    This cheesecake looks fabulous- so exciting about the Vitamix! You must be loving it!

  4. This looks/sounds amazing! I love cheesecake, and have yet to make a raw version! I’ll bookmark this and try it the next time I need one :-)

  5. When you say ‘stevia powder’ you mean the stevia+erythritol blend? I think 2 tsp pure stevia would be waaay too much.

    This looks amaaaaazing and I’m going to try it. :)

    Oh my gosh, I see people writing in German in your comments. How cool. I’m trying to learn. My niece and nephew are Leichtensteiners and speak German as their main language. They tell me it’s sooo easy to learn (at 4 years old, yes, maybe true….) :D.

    • hmmm i used nu naturals stevia powder, but i have to check again. i probably did not even use that amount, i forgot to measure and just kept adding pinches of stevia until it tasted great so i guessed it to be 2 tsp. will have to change it to 1 .- what an amateur recipe ! lol thanks for pointing it out to me!

Leave a Reply

