World Bodypainting Festival 2012

What a weekend! As many of you might know, I am a super creative person and to do as many creative things as I can outside my work. I have always been a fan of art, paintings, airbrushing etc. and this year I got the opportunity to take part as a model at the World Bodypainting Festival. Luckily, it is also held in Austria and even not quite far from my home place down South, so I got to enjoy the sun, lakes, beautiful people, great artists, AND my family.

Before I give you a recap of the weekend, I would like to quickly touch a topic that most of us do not feel too comfortable about: Being naked. Especially being naked in front of other people. Even if it might be your best friend, your boyfriend or your mother. We often feel ashamed and insecure and are not happy with our bodies, the way we look. We keep comparing ourselves to “perfect” models in the media and get totally crazy about working out in order to have a sexy, slim and strong body.

The problem here is that a lot of people NEVER get happy with the way they look, no matter how much time they sacrifice for healthy living/eating/exercising. I used to hate certain parts of my body and was ashamed of them, however, If there is ONE thing I have learnt through Yoga, then it was ACCEPTANCE. Accepting myself, the way I look, the way my body is shaped. I actually even started loving that I am different and started noticing how each one of us is shaped differently and HAS THE SAME PROBLEM. We are all sitting in the same boat, we all have to face the same challenge of accepting our ‘imperfect bodies’  and searching for our own happiness. For that matter, the Body Painting Festival was a nice step for me to enjoy being myself, and  to be surrounded by so many people who feel the same way.

“To be beautiful means to be yourself. You don’t need to be accepted by others. You need to accept yourself”

——- Thich Nhat Hanh

We started the days quite early and registered at 9am, set up the colours and got ready until 10:30- when the artists began with the actual painting.  It took quite some time to get the whole body painted (around 5-6 hours) and the days were loooong, BUT at the same time, it was such a great experience that I would not want to miss 1 minute of it.

The theme of Friday’s show was “Inner Fears”.
My artist, an Italian lady called Arianna Barlini is a true talent and such an inspiration. Her interpretation on the topic was the following:

“We are all affected from fears that usually turn out to be only inner fears. Often these fears represent our limits that we can’t overcome for a sort of mental block that keeps us from taking action , keeping us from reaching that goals that we would like to achieve in life. Our number one focus should be to try to defeat inner fears and live life according to our will. (…)

MY ART WORK

The Labyrinth represents human’s inner fears. The first labyrinth that we know of in history is the one of Crete Island in Greece, where the Minotaur was stuck (a monster half man, half bull) and where Theseus volunteered to get in to kill him. Theseus will defeat the Minotaur and will be able to get out of the labyrinth thanks to a red thread that Ariadne gave him as a gift. The Minotaur represents our fears that I drawn in the back part of the body with the helmet and the spear, symbol of the fight between the Minotaur and Theseus. Ariadne’s thread represents the help that we can get from somebody with is indeed the resolution to win on our fears and get out the dark and see the light. “

We had a ton of fun on the set and I even had the chance to work on my Italian, which I have been quite lazy with.

“Inner Fears”- World Bodypainting Festival, Day 1

In the evening it was finally time to present the painting plus do a little dance on the stage. Yes, it was a real competition. Gosh I was so nervous, after all you are standing on a stage, completely naked, covered in paint and are supposed to perform an impromptu dance in front of hundreds of people, another couple of hundreds of cameras and journalists. What does a Yogi do in such a situation? Well, I closed my eyes, sat down in a corner for 5 minutes, went into a short meditation and imagined myself on the stage doing an awesome performance. It helped me to get motivated and I really enjoyed every second of it!

world body painting festival- with Italian artist Arianna Baldini on my left

AND….. guess what happened… WE MADE IT TO THE FINALS!!!!

The theme for the finals was “Avantgarde” and after almost 6  hours of standing still and getting painted all over, I ended up looking like this:

 

I also modeled on Saturday for an Amateur artist, who was absolutely amazing. But more of that on the NamasteYoga Facebook page in the next couple of days. So come on over and remember: BE YOURSELF!!

Have you ever tried/seen/taken part at an Body Painting event? Would you feel comfortable getting painted while standing naked in public? Are you happy with your body shape?

17 thoughts on “World Bodypainting Festival 2012

    • hmm naja eigentlich hätte ich ohne höschen dastehen können und nur mit einem “höschenkleber”. sieht aus wie eine damenbinde.. hatten viele an aber nachdem ich sehr viele verrückte bewegungen bei den fotoshoots machen musste, hab ich das höschen doch angelassen!

    • Gabby-thx for your lovely comment. the first day was a bit weird since i was standing there naked in front of people i did not know. but i realized the artist only sees me as his model and nothing else. the only problem i had was that a lot pf photographers were taking photos and i definitely didnt wanna show boobs before they were all painted. thats just wrong of the photographers!

    • danke ulli! war eine tolle künstlerin! ganze 5 einhalb stunden hat es gebraucht um angemalt zu werden. beginn war 10:30 und um 16 Uhr hat man fertig sein müssen. race against time !:)

  1. Oh my gosh Alexia what an incredible experience! You look absolutely stunning! You should get the pics blown up and hang them on your wall. They’ll make amazing artwork!
    5-6 hours is a very long time to wait while you’re being painted. You must be a very patient person! You’re also very brave. I would certainly never have the guts to do anything like that. Good on you for going for it! This is definitely an experience you’ll never forget.

    • thank you sharon for your lovely comment! A y ar ago I thought i would never have the guts to do something like that either but somehow a friend of mine convinced me and told me so much about the festival and how fun it was to take part that i just applied. And once the artists emailed me with the designs and asked me to join the team I got so excited that I completely forgot about the “being naked in public” part ;)

  2. Oh my heavens, this is amazing! I am so completely and utterly in awe. You look incredible; it brings my soul great joy to know there are such avenues for art and adventure in this world of ours. High five for living an extravagantly interesting and inspiring life!

  3. OH MY GODDESS ALEXIS!!! That is just absolutely incredible! I could never do it!

    Being that I’ve lost 135 pounds I’ve got crazy amounts of saggy skin so to say I’m not comfortable with my stomach is the understatement of the century…Kudos to you! You look absolutely beautiful!

    • aww thank you katie!!! the bodypainting show was a lot of fun!!! and congrats on having been so strong and lots so much weight! thats really impressive!

      • You are most welcome! You look absolutely comfortable in your own skin and that is what it’s all about right???

        Thanks so much! it’s an every day battle!

Leave a Reply

