Home / Recipe of the month

RAW Black Forest Cupcakes (raw, vegan, gf)

I am so excited about this post that I cannot wait to share any longer. As most of you already know, i do not have a very sweet tooth (exception: chocolate!) but have been experimenting a lot with raw desserts/cakes and making my own chocolate. I recently stumbled upon a FANTASTIC dessert cookbook called “Pure Pleasures: Cupcake Heaven by Natalia Karoway-Waterhouse and I am just absolutely in love with it. I started with one of the most “difficult” versions in her book: Black Forest Cupcakes with a liquid cherry filling. Oh my… I can’t even find words for how delicious they are. I  promise you these are the yummiest cupcakes you will ever taste. Well, if you are into raw desserts at least.

What makes the cupcakes recipes so great is that they are not overly packed with nuts and oils as many raw desserts do, but include whole apples and coconut flour in the base (which makes them much much lighter). I think each one of us who is into raw foods has experienced the feeling of a “nut brick” in the stomach after eating a whole slice of a raw chocolate ganache tart. I have been experimenting with raw desserts, making them lighter by cutting down nuts, using less oil etc. but in my opininon they  never tasted good enough to actually mention them. UNTIL NOW! Another plus for the cupcakes is that you can store them in the freezer for weeks. Just take them out of the fridge in the morning and enjoy in the afternoon!

So here is one of my all time favourite raw cupcake recipe, which is so good that it actually made me start loving dessert (Another amazing version to come soon!).

RAW BLACK FOREST CUPCAKES (vegan, raw, gf)

adapted from “Pure Pleasures: Cupcake Heaven”

RAW Black Forest Cupcakes

Cupcakes before getting filled with cherry “jam”

RAW Black Forest Cupcakes

Now filled with homemade cherry “jam”

RAW Black Forest Cupcakes

Filled with vanilla frosting and a delicious dark cherry on top

Nothing beats this HEALTHY afternoon treat. Cupcakes and healthy? Yes, every single bite!

RAW Black Forest Cupcake

Ingredients (makes 7 cupcakes):

Dark chocolate cupcakes:

  • 1 cup peeled and chopped apples
  • 1 cup raw coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup honey or agave (or: 2 Tbsp agave plus a pinch of stevia)
  • 2 Tbsp raw coconut oil
  • 3 Tbsp pure water
  • 1/4 cup raw cacao powder
  • seeds of one vanilla bean
  • pinch of Himalayan salt

Juicy Cherry Filling:

  • 1 cup pitted cherries
  • 1 table spoon honey or agave

Vanilla Frosting:

  • 1 cup raw cashews
  • 2 Tbsp honey or agave
  • 2 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of Himalayan salt
  • 1/4 cup water

Dark Chocolate Cupcakes: Place the chopped apples in your food processor fit with the S-blade and process until smooth. Add the honey, coconut oil & water and process again until well combined. Add the cacao powder, vanilla and salt and continue to process. Finally, add the coconut flour and process until completely combined. Fill your cupcake liners to the top and press firmly to form their shape (I used my small silicone ones). Scoop out the center (about 1cm x 1cm) to make room for the filling. Freeze for 2 hours to firm. Once solid, pop the cupcakes out of the liners and they’re ready to be filled & frosted.

Juicy Cherry Filling: Place all ingredients in your food processor and pulse to roughly chop. Let stand for 15 minutes, then strain out the juice. Divide equally between your cupcakes, filling the centers.

Vanilla Frosting:  Pre-soak the cashews for 2 hours. Blend with the remaining ingredients in a high-speed blender until very smooth. Place the frosting in the refrigerator for 2-4 hours to firm. Once it has thickened, frost the cupcakes. Top with a delicious red cherry!

Do you like raw desserts? What is your favourite one? Have you ever tried making raw cupcakes? Do you have a sweet tooth?

22 thoughts on “RAW Black Forest Cupcakes (raw, vegan, gf)

  1. Oh my word Alexia, these are just beautiful! I love how you used apples and coconut flour to lighten them up. I know exactly what you mean by a “nut brick”. As delicious and healthy as raw desserts can be, oh man are they ever heavy and at times difficult to digest! I’m definitely going to have to give that a shot in my own raw deserts. First up though, making these ;)

  2. I agree about raw desserts being heavy on the nuts, and that’s why I try not to make a lot of them! This, on the other hand, looks incredibly delicious, I’m going to have to make some in the morning.Thanks for sharing! :D

    • yeah i get you with the dessert for breakfast thing.. i was actually thinking about having a raw cupcake this morning for breakfast too but then a chia pudding won over. the raw cupcakes contain a lot of things i would eat for breakfast anyways, like coconut flour, apples, nuts, cashews etc.. but just the thought of having a cupcake first thing in the morning does not sound right to me.. mayb the second thing after a green juice ;)

    • keine blackforest mehr übrig aber dafür lemon und lime.. ahhh so lecker!!! freu mich schon dich zu sehen!

  3. I love this cupcakes, my children hugged me and kissed me on the cheeks for making them this one. They love cookies and cupcakes but they are even happier having a grip on this one. I did some thinking and made some mixes for this cupcakes. Have you tried mixing olive oil rather than coconut oil in the cupcake? Do you have recipe for a basil herb? I want to make raw tea out of this herb just like what I saw on this one at http://organicindia.mercola.com/tulsi-tea.aspx

  4. Pingback: Black Forest Cupcakes (Raw Vegan Gluten free) « The Best Cupcake Recipes

  5. Hi Alexia! I’m catching up on my blog reading after 3 weeks away. As soon as I turned on my Google Reader my eyes were instantly drawn to this wonderful post. Raw Black Forest Cupcakes… oh my word! The sound and look amazing! Thank you so much for sharing the recipe. I can’t wait to give them a try!

    • so glad you saw the post! i am in love with those cupcakes!! and i have been making more and more flavours ever sicne! will have to post the others soon too! happy you are back! :)

  6. oh my, these look delightful! i totally know about that nut brick that sits in your tummy after a raw desert, no bueno. i have a bf’s birthday coming up and i totally know what i’m going to make now :)

Leave a Reply

