Home

Post from my Kitchen #1

This week started with a little present. I recently took part at this wonderful initiative called “Post aus meiner Küche” – “Post from my Kitchen” where basically a topic is given and you get a randomly chosen swap partner for whom you cook/bake/create something special. This time, the theme was “Let’s picnic” and let me tell you, it was more than hard for me to decided what I am going to surprise my foodie friend Magdalena with. I ended making the most amazing Raw Peach Cupcakes (inspired by my wonderful Blackforest Cupcakes) and brought them over to Magdalena’s place on Sunday night. We had never seen each other before but since she lives rather close to me, we decided to meet and exchange our little picnic baskets.

Post from Magdalena’s Kitchen: Homemade Nut Bread, Tea and herb salt

I, in return, was being surprised with an incredible homemade vegan nutbread, plus home-grown tea (elderflower) and coarse herb salt with fresh herbs from grandmother’s garden. I was wondering how Magdalena could possibly pick such perfect little gifts for me. I was more than excited to try the nutbread and had a slice as soon as I got home. It tastes perfect when toasted, smeared with a little butter and topped with a huge dollop of homemade apricot jam! And because I absolutely adore the bread, I am going to share Magdalena’s recipe with you:

Spelt Nut Bread  (vegan)

Ingredients (makes a huuuuge loaf):

  • 250 g walnuts, chopped
  • 300g wholemeal spelt flour
  • 200g fine spelt flour
  • 1 small 5g package instant yeast
  • 3 Tbsp salt
  • 2 Tbsp (raw) honey
  • 1 Tbsp olive or rapeseed oil
  • about 2 cups of water
  • bread seasoning

In a pan, lightly toast the walnuts over medium heat for about 6 minutes. Don’t use any oil here, just keep moving the walnuts around so they don’t get burnt! In a bowl, mix flours, yeast, salt and nuts. Mix honey and water in a separate bowl and add to the flour mixture. Depending on the flour you use, you might have to add some more water. Knead the dough thoroughly and form into a ball. Cover and let rest for in a warm place for about 1 hour. Repeat this step once again (knead and let rest for 1 hour). Meanwhile butter a loaf pan and preheat oven to 200′ degrees Celcius (180F). Finally, place the dough into the pan and put in the oven to bake for about 50 minutes.

Have you ever taken part at a Food Swap? What recipe do you rely on if you cook/bake for friends and family?

7 thoughts on “Post from my Kitchen #1

  1. hey alexia .. my sweetheart! wann treffen wir uns wieder mal, ich vermisse dein ruhiges wesen ^^ … gemma jetzt doch mal endlcih eis schnabulieren oder hummus!!! melde dich my dear u was is mit blogger dinner?? xx dosiiiii

    • heyy meine liebe! lass uns doch am sonntag zum naschmarkt fruehstuecken gehen!? ins neni oder tewa? hast du lust? wuerd mich sehr freun! meld dich bei mir!!! Blogger Dinner ist am 12. September im Restaurant ON! Ist schon fast voll, also bitte noch Bescheid sagen falls du kannst. schreib mir ne SMS wegen dem WE!

Leave a Reply

