Happy Birthday… to my BLOG!

I did not realize that it has already been a year since I have been blogging. Funnily, it all started out during my social media internship at fashion online store Pret-Amoda in Delhi, India. I was reading a lot of fashion blogs at that time and wanted to understand everything thats BEHIND all those successful blogs. So I decided to start my own. Not only did it help me understand the key tools about blogging and online marketing, but I also had the opportunity to become more connected and stay up-to-date on topics like yoga, health, lifestyle and fashion. Plus, I got to “know” a bunch of other super enthusiastic and inspiring bloggers! A big special thank you also goes to all my readers out there! As a little birthday gift FROM ME to YOU I am giving away five €10 vouchers for the online store Keimling. Its a great online health shop where you can find tons of raw food products such as chocolate, crackers, breads, snacks plus the most amazing kitchen appliances such as the wonderful Vitamix, Sedona dehydrator and Green Star Elite juicer.

To enter for the competition:

  • you have to live in Europe
  • leave me a comment on my blog and tell me WHAT product  on the Keimling website interests you the most
  • like NamasteYoga on Facebook and leave me a comment
  • Tweet about my giveaway (Alexia3006)

5 Random winners will be chosen on September 30, 2012. Good luck everyone!!

And because its a birthday, of course there is cake too!!! I surprised myself with the following RAW CUPCAKES, adapted from Natalias wonderful book “Cupcake Heaven“. You can, of course, change the fruit, I used peaches because they were in season, but like to switch them up according to whats available AT THE MOMENT. I bet, plum cupcakes would make a nice fall dessert right now!

Those cupcakes are heavenly, I can’t say it often enough! The fact that there are no nuts in the cupcake base plus the filling of fresh fruit jam makes them a lot lighter than other raw & nut-based desserts. Please do give them a try, I promise you won’t regret it. It’s a birthday gift from ME to YOU.

Chocolate & Peach Cupcakes (raw,gf,v)

Raw Peach Cupcakes topped with a peachy “cream cheese” frosting and sliced local peaches

Ingredients (makes 15 small cupcakes)

Dark Chocolate Cupcakes

  • 1 1/2 cups peeled and chopped apples
  • 1/2 cup raw honey or agave (or try with 1 tsp stevia and 2 Tbsp honey)
  • 3 Tbsp raw coconut oil
  • 3 Tbsp pure water
  • 1/2 cup raw cacao powder
  • pinch of Himalayan salt
  • 1 cup raw coconut flour

Peach Jam

  • 1 cup peaches, peeled & chopped
  • 2 Tbsp raw honey or agave
  • 2 Tbsp chia seeds

Peaches & Cream Frosting

  • 1 cup raw cashews, soaked for 2 hours, drained/rinsed
  • 1/2 cup peaches, peeled & chopped (i actually used a cup to make it even more peachy)
  • 3 Tbsp raw honey or agave
  • 2 Tbsp lemon juice
  • pinch of Himalayan salt
  • 3 Tbsp raw coconut oil

Garnish: Sliced peaches

Place the chopped apples in your food processor (S-blade) and process until smooth. Add honey, coconut oil & water and process again until well combined. Add cacao powder and salt and continue to process. Finally, add coconut flour and process until completely combined. Fill cupcake liners to the top and press firmly to form their shape. With a round measuring spoon (tsp) smoothly press down (or scoop out) the center of each cupcake to make room for the filling. Freeze for 2 hours to firm. Once solid, pop the cupcakes out of the liners- ready to be frosted!

PeachJam

In a blender, combine peachers and honey or agave. Blend lightly. Scrape into a bowl and fold in the chia seeds. Set aside to thicken for about 30 minutes. Once the jam has thickened, spoon into the hollow centers of your cupcakes.

Lemon Cream Frosting

In a high-speed blender, combine the cashews,peaches, honey or agave, lemon juice, lemon zest, salt and blend until very smooth. Add the coconut oil and blend again until just combined. Set the frosting in the refrigerator for 2-4 hours to firm. Once it has thickened, frost the cupcakes.

Love and Light,

Alexia

9 thoughts on “Happy Birthday… to my BLOG!

  1. Happy Anniversary! I’m so glad that you did starting blogging Alexia as I love reading your posts and am so glad to have met you in ‘blogging world’ :) Those cup cakes look absolutely delicious! I’ll make sure I add the ingredients to my shopping list and give them a try asap xx

  2. Happy Blogiversary! I would love to win that store credit – will donate to my sister in Liechtenstein. She could definitely do with some healthy inspiration! Those cupcakes look like a ‘must try’. I basically love anything stuck together with coconut oil.

    • oh believe me i am in LOVE with coconut oil! I recently have been making lots of raw chocolate with coconut butter and oil.. so tasty!!! good luck for winning the store credit!

  3. huii, die schauen aber lecker aus.

    völlig unpassend jetzt, aber ich hab grad dein kommentar entdeckt (war im spam, keine ahnung warum :(): beim burgermacher gibt es – so viel ich weiß – immer 2 veggie burger abwechselnd: tofu & polenta. ich hab aber weder den einen noch den anderen probiert. WAS ich aber probiert habe, ist die mohn-creme-nachspeise mit powidl – die war vegetarisch & ziemlich lecker!

    und: happy birthday! :)

Leave a Reply

