FALLing into Detox

I know this comes a bit late but I my birthday giveaway has some winners!!

Ulli, Zwergenprinzessin and Sarah Lake, you guys won a €10 voucher for the online health food store Keimling. Enjoy!!

** Quick note for the next giveaway: NON BLOGGERS can take part too!! Don’t be shy guys!

So now, on to my post today……..

Fall has officially begun and as it is a time of transition a lot of people are searching for a way to let go of the previous season by committing to a kind of detox. For some it may mean cutting out on any alcohol (oh yes, even I had a far amound of wine in the past couple of weeks) or sweets, for some it may mean enganging in more physical activity, and for some others it may mean getting rid of stress by doing more meditation and things that silence your busy mind. While I do not particularly like the word “detox”, since it is connotated with something negative, I do believe that certain short-term programmes that combine nutrition, exercise, meditation and body care, do help increasing awareness to be able to listen to your OWN body’s signals. This is also the first step of integrating an overall healthier lifestyle.

The toxins our body cannot process have a name in Ayurveda: Ama (Sanskrit for “that which harms or weakens”). Ayurvedic physician Robert Svoboda characterizes ama not only as a kind of physical sludge, but also as a psychosomatic sludge that pollutes the mind. Accumulated ama is the basis for much disease and even emotional disease—and from a physical standpoint, it creates an appealing host environment for cold and flu viruses. So, the best of getting rid of the Ama in your body or not even accumulate toxins is sticking to a whole foods diet (no GMO or processed foods, nothing aritificial whatsoever, fruit & veg in season etc) combined with some mind&body work.

Whole Foods Pyramide

There are lots of detoxes that focus on nutrition, but if you are looking for a combo that focuses on exercise, body care and meditation too, an Ayurvedic detox would be a good option.  Yoga Journal offers a 7 day Ayurvedic detox including Yoga videos and cleansing tips for skin care too. To prepare for it, you simply take a dosha quiz to find out more about your body constitution (takes 5mins), buy the ingredients on the given shopping list and prepare some recipes for the week ahead. It is not very time consuming since you basically live on Kitchari (an Indian rice & mung bean dish) and lots of herbal teas for a week.

I have not tried the full cleanse so far, but when I lived in India I often stuck to a couple of days of eating Kitchari to give my digestive system a bit of an easier time. In India it is usually eaten when you are sick and it truly is a very comforing and soothing dish. Similar to a risotto, you can adjust its “creaminess” by adding more or less water and, in this case, cooking the mung beans and rice mish mash a bit longer. For a yummy Kitchari recipe, have a look at one of my previous posts HERE.

Ayurvedic KITCHARI

Guidelines of the Ayurvedic detox include:

  • Every day (for 1 whole week) eat 3 small servings of Kitchari (add steamed veggies or optional chutneys according to your dosha type) and drink plenty of herbal teas and pottasium broth.
  • Reduce caffeine intake before the cleanse and stick to herbal only on the cleanse
  • Get at least 7 hours of sleep.  According to Ayurvedic principles, the ideal time to go to bed would be before 10pm. Wake up around 6 to start with your daily routine.
  • Reduce amount of stress and stimulation in your life and learn to say “no” to some activities.
  • Start each day with Abhyanga, a warm-oil self-massage technique, followed by a 30mins Yoga class (videos are provided every day).

Overall, I think this cleanse is a good way to let go and destress. It allows you to give your whole system a  break and cleanses from the inside (nutrition and yoga) as well as  from the outside (massage and yoga). Another positive aspect is that it is gluten free (specific-diet friendly), hence adjustable for ANYBODY without starving your body or lacking in nutrition. You will probably have less energy but mood swings are part of cleansing processes in your body.

What do you think of Fall Detoxes? Do you ever detox or stick with a plan to eat healthier /exercise more when a new season arrives? Any tips for a healthy cleanse?

17 thoughts on “FALLing into Detox

  1. I actually just did a fall detox, although a very different one from this! This one sounds really good though, very in line with things getting chillier! I actually just finished a course at school about Ayurveda so this post was really timely :)

    • gabby- how are u? there are so mand “detoxes” out there, which one did u do? any advice? i am not sure if i can do without raw foods ;)

      • I’m doing well dear, how are you??

        I did a juice cleanse, something that was entirely new to me! I will actually be doing a post on it very soon so keep your eyes peeled!

        I know what you mean about going without raw foods- it would be so difficult! How long would you be doing the cleanse for?

      • i would be doing a cleanse only for a couple of days.. need a break from all the good wine i was drinking over the summer and also to get my mind clear! so stressed at the moment !how wa the juice cleanse? would you recommend it?

      • Ya I really loved the juice cleanse. I felt so clean after and it helped me pinpoint some problems I’d been having!

        Oh wine…so good and so hard to quit!

  2. Great post Alexia! This detox sounds wonderful!
    I’ve never done a detox myself but my day-to-day life if fairly non toxic these days. I quit alcohol, junk food and dairy a couple of years ago, so my day to day life is pretty clean. My only vice is 1-2 cups of coffee a day,but I don’t feel that it’s an excessive amount of caffeine (for me anyhow!)
    Your Kitchari dish looks wonderfully warming and nourishing! I must buy some mung beans next time I shop!
    Here’s wishing you a great weekend xx

    • oh sharon you have a detoxed life already :) no detox needed for you for sure! i am quite happy with my every day life too but just need a break from all the wine i was drinking over the summer!!!

  3. I would do this…I actually feel like I need to! I’m doing my own little version of a detox to bring myself back to earth after drinking too much wine and coffee and just eating too much for a few weeks. I feel better after a few days of just drinking more water and not ingesting all the junky stuff. I do believe detoxes are beneficial (I’m just picky about how it’s done and what the purpose is!). We’re all exposed to a lot of stuff both in and out of our control. It’s good to clean house once in a while!

    • i agree with “its good to clean the house once in a while” and do need to find a good way of cleansing that i can live with! any advice except drinking lots of water?

  4. Thanks for the Keimling-win, yay!!!! And I think a detox can be a good idea if you are ready, maybe I’ll try it, this one sounds nice, as its only 7 days long ;-) Thanks for sharing!! (And I promise, we’ll meet soon when I’m on top of the game again ok?!)

    • sleep is definitely one of the main factors not only during a detox, but for a healthy life! i seem to have a lack of sleep at times.. but i am just a crazy energetic person that believes in little sleep ;) haha

Leave a Reply

