Home

Food for Life @ Lifefood

Most of you probably know that I am a bit of a raw food junkie and from time to time even follow a high raw diet (80%). I say from time to time because my body does not ALWAYS like raw food. Sometimes all I want is a bowl of warming curry or soup and since living India, cooking with spices has become part of my kitchen life. If you would ask me why I am so thrilled about RAW food, I would let you know that the reason for it is that “it makes me feel good”. Everybody has their own preference when it comes to nutrition, exercise and lifestyle habits, and this one seems to be right for me. I have been focusing a lot on raw desserts lately as you can see in some of my previous posts like the Raw Peach Cupcakes, Raw Blackforest Cupcakes or RAW Very Berry Cheesecake and will try to shift a bit to the savoury side as from now on. No worries THERE WILLL STILL BE CAKE!

So as I do teach Yoga on a lot of evenings during the week, I do need some energizing snacks that keep me going during strong power yoga or vinyasa practices. I find that raw food snacks work best for me, so I often rely on my homemade powerballs, nuts, seeds, fresh juice and apples. Whenever I feel like something savoury to keep my blood sugar level low, I  will have some yummy kale chips (ADDICTED) or raw crackers (maybe with some hummus). While I have tried to make raw crackers myself, they never seem to turn out as good the ones from i.e. Inspiral Lounge, Keimling or Lifefood. I keep ordering some snack staple from various online stores on the web (to expand my taste buds and maybe find out more about ingredients list to make my own) and recently had the wonderful opportunity to sample myself through a wonderful raw food survivor package from LIFEFOOD.

Care package from Lifefood

Lifefood is an international company (online store not entirely international yet- but working on it) that sells purely RAW FOOD such as nuts, crackers, chocolate, cacao, olives, cookies etc. The companies philosophy is based on the belive that the more natural and whole foods we eat the more life energy we receive. All products are “handmade” and not heated above 42° Celcius to save the foods vitamins and nutritional benefits. Furthermore, all the products are:

 

 

 

  • Vegan (plant- based ingredients ONLY)
  • Gluten Free
  • Lactose Free
  • No Sugar Added (only sweetened with raw agave nectar to guarantee low GI foods)
  • Certified Organic

My sample box included a big spread of different raw snacks as well as superfoods and I loved to taste my way through all those nourishing treats. Let me introduce you to some:

Olive Bread

Ingredients (all organic): almonds, buckwheat, olives, linseeds, sunflower seeds, carrots, thyme, olive oil, salt

This “bread” has a light olive flavour and is not too heavy to bite and chew which makes it perfect to to top with raw hummus and sprouts, eat it with soup or simply as it comes. Often, raw “bread” tends to be very heavy as it is based on nuts and oils, but this one definitely tastes a bit “lighter” and more on the cracker side!

Baobab is a superFRUIT coming from Africa. It has a higher amount of antioxidants than acai, goji berries and pomegranate!!  It tastes a bit like a mix between caramel and grapefruit (Sounds weird, I know). I added it to smoothies and porridge and it definitely gives your breakfast an extra kick!

Recommended daily dose: 1-3 tsp a day

Ingredients (all organic): dates,brazil nuts, almonds, coconut, coconut oil, vanilla

I did like the taste of this bar, however, it was a bit too sweet for me. I often make “powerballs” with the same ingredients, but do not base it on dates and figs and add some more seeds and even protein powder/green powder for  lasting energy.

Ingredients (all organic): dates, cacao (29%), cacao mass, raw agave nectar, coconut oil.

I am a chocoholic and could happily life without ANY dessert EXCEPT chocolate. This also makes me very critical when it comes to good chocolate. The Rawmeo chocolate balls are a great snack but since the main ingredient is dates, a bit too sweet and “fruity” to me. They are more like little energy balls rather than chocolate. But definitely a nice little treat and the perfect size to match with your afternoon tea!

Ingredients (all organic): golden linseeds, apples, raisins, raw agave nectar, sunflower seeds, cinnamon

Oh yum! I was so surprised of the taste of these rolls! Usually flax- or linseed based desserts and bars are quite difficult to eat because of their density (hard to chew), but those rolls really won me over! Definitely won the raw cinnamon roll test !

Ingredients (organic): almonds, raisins, onions, unrefined sea salt, garlic, cayenne pepper

Delicious! I LOVE savoury snacks and also love almonds. Perfect sweet and savoury teriyaki flavour! The only downside: Quite a splurge!!

I posted the benefits of chia seeds in one of my recent posts, see here. I definitely think chia seeds should be staple in everyone’s diet and lifefood offers well sized (250g or 500g) packages that will support you for quite some time!

Since I am in love with some of the LIFEFOOD products and truly support a raw or partly raw food diet, I would like to spread the word and post a couple of more posts on the topic. So stay tuned for a raw snack post in the near future!

Have a wonderful week everyone, I am indulging in a bag of teriyaki almonds now! ;)

Do you order raw food/snacks/ingredients online? Which is your favourite online store?

11 thoughts on “Food for Life @ Lifefood

    • you are so right, i am so happy to have found a company that makes lovely raw crisps and snacks! Its quite a splurge but so worth it!

  1. Yum, those teriyaki almonds/raisins/onion mix sounds really interestingly GOOD. I usually make all my own raw stuff, BUT I have found an amazing company while at home in NZ – they are called Eternal Delight…. you would LOVE their stuff Alexia…. so so tempting! They do supplements + allsorts as well, plus they have the BEST coconut oil I have ever tried.

    As you know, I’m all for moderation, so I enjoy my raw goodies with some cooked food too – balance is good, no? :)

    • ohh i am so addicted to online health food shopping. i have been sourcing the best stuff from all over the world, literally! i have been getting samples from great companies and just kept ordering and giving away amazing gifts to my friends..lol.. BEST coconut oil? send me some over! how about a foodie swap? :)

  2. Great review Alexia! I’d never heard of Lifefood before so after I’ve finished catching up on your wonderful blog I’ll check out their pages. All the products you reviewed look great. I’m especially intrigued by the Apple Cinnamon Flax rolls. Three of my favourite ingredients all in one snack. I’d definitely like to give them a try!

Leave a Reply

